funk water

Just came back from a walk in the morning swelter, grabbed a cup, and filled it from the “special” filtered water tap at our sink. If you live in Florida, you understand—if you can get your hands on a reverse osmosis filter and spare yourself from the typical tap, do it.

As the water poured in, I noticed a funky little black slime thing, about the size of a thick thread, hanging from the end of the tap as the water streamed around it and into my waiting cup.

Gag me. It was a little sludge of moldy crud apparently fixed to the inside of the faucet. Who knows how long it grew there, unnoticed, invisibly tainting our drinking water. I toothpicked it out with soapy water, and hopefully can trust the flow as clean enough for human consumption.

Information streams into my brain like that water. It flows constantly as I read, listen, watch, converse, relate, and drink it all in. What kind of funk do I have growing around my faucet? Am I drinking it all in with prejudice smudging up against it? Do I judge, grudge, and criticize? Or is the slime of apathy silently oozing into my water?

Proverbs 4:23 reminds me to “Keep your heart with all vigilance, for from it flow the springs of life.”

Lord, have mercy! Feel free to stick a soapy toothpick into my heart!

 

3 thoughts on “funk water

Leave a Reply

