the root of the matter

ansel adams mountains Psalm 139

God lives up in heaven, right? He’s up there, looking down, watching us fumble around as we serve Him well or stumble, tripping up ourselves and others, making mistakes, doing our best to love Him and others. He loves us and He’s up there, watching.

Right?

And wrong.

Sure, He’s “up” there. But that’s not all.

This morning in prayer, I asked God to tell me something about Him that I didn’t know. I mean, He’s limitless, endless, indescribably infinite, so that means there’s plenty to know and we’ve only scratched the surface. Barely.

In my imagination, I heard Him say, “I live in the roots of the mountains.”

What?

I pictured the home of Tolkien’s slimy Gollum from the Lord of the Rings, the whole scene dark, wet, and assuredly scary.

“I live in the roots of the mountains. And the place you’re standing is holy ground.”

What?

And then I recalled Psalm 139:

 Where can I go from your Spirit?

    Where can I flee from your presence?

If I go up to the heavens, you are there;

    if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.

If I rise on the wings of the dawn,

    if I settle on the far side of the sea,

even there your hand will guide me,

    your right hand will hold me fast.

If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me

    and the light become night around me,”

even the darkness will not be dark to you;

    the night will shine like the day,

    for darkness is as light to you.

Psalm 139:7–12, NIV

 

Suddenly, I recognized that God is here. He’s not up there…well, He is, but He’s not distant and away. He’s everywhere.

He is here. He is here now. And the place I’m standing on is holy. And since He’s right here, He reminds me that He’ll never let me go.

He’ll never let you go, either.

Big collective sigh of relief.

 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me

    and the light become night around me,”

even there your hand will guide me,

    your right hand will hold me fast.

(Psalm 139:10)

 

Leave a Reply

